Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Rejetting 77 gs550 for pods and pipes

So I'm a total noob.

I am in the process of of rejetting my 77 gs550 for pods and pipes since the old air box was trashed. I see there is rarely see any mention of the pilot jet no. 2. which is 50. I am jetting for k&n pods and 4 in 1 exhaust with a mini muffler no baffle. I changed the mains to 92.5 and was still lean so I'm changing to 100 tonight and pilot no 1. to 17.5 and moved the needle 2 notches. Should i keep the pilot jet no. 2. how it is stock (i'm confused why its never mentioned). Also for these changes where would you suggest for a good starting point with the fuel mixture screws on the bottom?

also I have

I have replaced the manifold boots and o rings but it still seems like i have a vacuum leak it revs around 3k-4k once it reaches 3k on the throttle and won't come down unless i'm in gear and fiddle with the clutch lever. idle stays around 1200. I haven't checked the points or valves yet as I don't have a clue what I'm doing. Could the valves or points cause this issue?

thanks

any help would be much appreciated and if any of you are in portland area and wouldn't mind showing me some things i would greatly appreciate an help i can get. I've learned a ton reading this forum but still nervous to attempt some things.
    Last edited by Guest; 08-26-2014, 06:49 PM.

I can't really offer any technical help (I paid to have mine rejetted on a dyno), but I think most would agree 1200 is a nice healthy idle.
    1982 GS1100E V&H "SS" exhaust, APE pods, 1150 oil cooler, 140 speedo, 99.3 rear wheel HP, black engine, '83 red

2016 XL883L sigpic Two-tone blue and white. Almost 42 hp! Status: destroyed, now owned by the insurance company. The hole in my memory starts an hour before the accident and ends 24 hours after.

Comment