Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Fuel Concerns and Questions

Hey everybody,

I've been riding my gs850gz pretty consistently for the past three months (barring a 2 week period when it rained nonstop.) I've been fueling up with different grades of fuel, just testing response time and economy - and I think I have uncovered a mistake I've made. When I sync'ed carbs and reset my air mixture I was running 93 octane w/ 4 fl.oz of Seafoam per full tank of gas. Since this time, I've not been able to achieve the same power, acceleration, or response time. I didn't think it would make any difference, and perhaps it didn't - but is there any merit to the theory that -

At the time I set the fuel mixture, the fuel I am using in addition to any additives must remain consistent to retain the same response, idle, power, etc?

My next question is regarding the most peculiar buildup I've been finding in my bowls... After a month or two of consistent riding, the throttle response at the top end (or more often, idle and up to 1/4 turn) completely drops out. I pull apart my carbs and I find a strange pale-brown fibrous-looking material. It looks very similar to paper filter element if one dissolved and reformed... Now, the part I cannot figure out: I don't use paper filters. My air filter is a different color, and appears to be in perfect condition. No gaskets are this color, or material. I find small traces of the stuff in my fuel filter (nylon mesh in glass bowl) and a large quantity in the bowls themselves. It gathers in the bottom of the bowls - almost like it's something from the fuel undergoing phase separation and crystallizing... But what in the world would separate from fuel and crystallize?? The bike doesn't sit for more than 48hrs before I'm back on the road - always medium distance trips, 50 - 150 miles every day.