New to this carb help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New to this carb help

Hi guys, I have a GS1000 from 78 and I need it to pass an inspection in order to register it. I went at the end of last season and they told me my carb is sweating. I did a bit of research and I saw that it might be a leak in the vacuum seal? I read the service manual and it is not muh help. I'm not sure what to do and i don't know of any good places to go in Montreal to get this issue fixed. Does anyone have any advice on what to do or where to go? Anything would help because I am new to this. I was thinking of following the service manual and taking apart and cleaning them but I'm still a newbie when it comes to these things.

just for background I'm a second year mechanical engineering student and I have retired pretty much the whole bike (the previous owners wiring was garbage)

I have a 78 also, and am not sure about any vacuum seal. Hopefully, there will be more knowledgeable people chiming in to help you.

The only places I know of that could leak or sweat on mine are the bowl gaskets, or gas coming out of the overflow from a stuck float. (I have had that happen before and just by tapping on that bowl it fixed it)

They must do quite intensive inspections there. Here, on bikes more than 25 years old, they basically just check and make sure the lights and brakes work.
    82 gs1100e FAUX Skunk
    80 gs1000s

Comment

Clean it properly and rebuild it yourself. Go here.....http://members.dslextreme.com/users/bikecliff/ Lotz of info there.
      -Mark
      Boston, MA
      Suck Squeeze Bang Blow..
      sigpic
      1980 GS850G with 79 carbs.....

Comment

Yes, do it your self

It only takes some basic tools and some carb cleaner - I know you can't get Berrymans up there, but I think you can get the Yamaha cleaner

I've never heard of a carb "sweating" so that's getting lost in translation some how.

Leaking? What fluid was it "sweating"