Seriously wtf... Stupid carbs...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Seriously wtf... Stupid carbs...

Rebuold the carbs they said.... Its easy they said...

they lied!

first... Who the hell designs a setup where ya have to move the engine forward to get the carbs free of the airbox???

So i studied every tutorial i could find... Studied the clymer... Followed every step to the t... Finally get the carbs back in and it fires right up... Set the idle, shut it off, hook up the sync tool and stop for the night...

go back this morning with a longer fuel line so i can move the tank out of the way and damn if i cant get the friggin thing to start... Seriously? Nothing changed but after six hrs still wont start... FML!!!

i tried several settings for the air adjustment screws, cleaned and gappedthe plugs, ran down two batteries including a lithium ion...

long story short... Lotsa time... More money than i had... Still wont start... Kill me now!

its a gs650... Any ideas guys?

Gas in the bowls?
    1983 GS 1100E w/ 1230 kit, .340 lift Web Cams, Ape heavy duty valve springs, 83 1100 head with 1.5mm oversized SS intake valves, 1150 crank, Vance and Hines 1150 SuperHub, Star Racing high volume oil pump gears, 36mm carebs Dynojet stage 3 jet kit, Posplayr's SSPB, Progressive rear shocks and fork springs, Dyna 2000, Dynatek green coils and Vance & Hines 4-1 exhaust.
    1985 GS1150ES stock with 85 Red E bodywork.

Comment

How warmed up was the engine when you set the idle??? If it wasnt very warm then the idle NOW is too low and thus its gonna be hard to start.

Set the mixture screws at the back at about 2 1/2 to 3 out from gently seated. Do NOT twist the throttle when trying to start it. Choke and hands off the grip.

Float hts too high will shut fuel to the bowls off too soon also.....causing the bowls to not fill which in turn means they arent full enough to run the engine. May want to recheck them and be sure to do it from the right spot on the floats.