Where to start? 82 gs650L

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Where to start? 82 gs650L

So like the title I have a 82 Gs650L, trying to make it more of a cafe/brat. With that said, I want the bike running top before I go and make any headway in what I want the bike to be.

So history of bike (from PO)... This guy had probably 50 bikes and was considered a "dealer" was trying to put a side car on it but said it wasn't geared right so he sold it to me. He also said the carb was cleaned and top end was done end of last year (2014). I'm new to this so I'm not really sure what "top end done" really entails. Now after reading loooots on this site. One of the newbie rules in never trust an PO. Well I'd like to hope this guy was for real. It runs and drives, I test drove it and it all seemed to checked out to my knowledge (which isn't too much) also blinkers aren't original, and they don't blink, they just stay lit. And speedo doesn't work. Which means miles aren't actual.

Got the bike trailered home. I tinkered with the speedo to try to fix that, kinda had it fixed then not.. The PO said the oil was good but the first thing I do with anything used is change the oil no matter what. Read on here to use Diesel engine oil but I brought that up to the most trustworthy shop in town and they insisted on 10w40.. so I changed the oil yesterday and it had a pretty good hint of gasoline smell in it which I have read is not ideal. So this brings me to my first real question/dilemma.. Either the carb was cleaned before the last oil change (in thought that they had float problems which leaked to the oil) or the carb was never properly fixed if at all. So with my oil change I am going to wait to see if I smell gas again. Also noticed one pipe on the bike creates a good amount of white smoke while the other does not. From what I read that could be the over flowed gas from my carbs. Or a mouse. Going to go with gas.