Gas getting into the oil - '82 GS1100E

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Gas getting into the oil - '82 GS1100E

I have an '82 GS1100E I just picked up and started riding. Just yesterday I got her inspected. It's my first motorcycle - very clean and pretty to look at - especially for her age, so I was naturally very excited to ride around and get a little speed. Also, as a disclaimer, I don't want to pretend like I'm an expert at being a motorcycle mechanic. I'm a total newbie to being a motorcycle mechanic.

When I got the bike I changed the oil, and I noticed gas with the oil and more fluid draining than should from this motorcycle (~5 liters; I was expecting 3.4 or so). Then I realized that I was leaving the fuel petcock on "PRI" which I assumed was "OFF" because it was faded and the cycle I learned on had On, Off, and RES. This one has ON, RES, and PRI. It's okay now, I learned not to leave it on PRI.

But I changed the oil and thought that if it were leaking from my leaving the PRI switch on then I'd see the level stay constant - otherwise I'd see it rise if it were leaking from something else.

For a few days the oil level stayed constant, but I only took the bike around town. After driving it into work today the level is back up. I should mention that today I drove the engine at higher RPMs than I had previously (5k+)

At the end of the ride today the oil level was noticeably higher and darker. It seems to me from the evidence stated above that something is allowing oil to leak into the crankcase at higher RPMs. That or it was just a matter of time before I noticed a difference.

Anyway, I'm looking for resources for diagnosing the problem. Having gasoline in your oil seems serious to me, but maybe it's a simple fix you guys have heard of? I'm thinking some gasket in the engine perhaps? Maybe valves are worn? Any help is much appreciated.

Lots of threads on similar issues. Here's one that should get you going.