Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I don't understand how velocity stacks or Pods actually work?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I don't understand how velocity stacks or Pods actually work?

Granted, I'm new to the motorcycle world, but when i look at the stock air box as well as the type of carburetors on my 1982 GS750E (vacuum actuated - not mechanically actuated), I don't understand how people are getting pods or stacks to work. How are they creating enough vacuum without idling the engine ridiculously high?? Someone please help me understand. Thanks!!

a3', there are idle passages that BYPASS the main jets+vacuum needle...your bike runs on these at idle and they continue to contribute gas as the revs go up, but since they supply a fixed amount that is not exactly adjustable while riding (idle mix screws), their proportionate contribution is much less versus the main jets.

The so-called choke on cv carbs is another bypass, but it is metered by the rider. So-called, because our cv carbs don't need a butterfly valve to "choke" the air off and thereby force the engine to draw from special fixed jets. Ours meter the gas instead.

actually come to think of it, don't all carbs , motorcycles or not ? have various ways to keep the motor happening independent of the main jet. The circumstance of running slowly seems to require it.
    Last edited by Gorminrider; 11-04-2015, 12:33 PM.

Comment

So, if i understand you correctly, the idle passages are sized such that the engine idle will be stable at low RPMs, regardless of the intake changes (e.g. pods or stacks). As RPM increases and the threshold of the idle passage is exceeded/not useful, there should theoretically be enough vacuum at that point? Am i way off?

Comment

Vacuum is not created by the air intake, it's created by the down stroke of the engine's pistons. So a change from airbox to pods just allows the motor to breathe easier.