Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Air intake pod filters on stock gs650gl 81 ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Air intake pod filters on stock gs650gl 81 ?

Hi!

I'm a diesel mechanic and never worked on small engines...
    I'm thinking of installing 4 intake pod filters on my gs650gl 1981 and I was wondering if it could cause a lean condition for the carbs. If after putting this I adjust valves and carbs could it still work properly? I'm not planning to install an exhaust for now.

Thanks!

I'm guessing it could cause lean, requiring re-jetting. But don't think I've ever seen pods with stock exhaust.
    1982 GS1100E V&H "SS" exhaust, APE pods, 1150 oil cooler, 140 speedo, 99.3 rear wheel HP, black engine, '83 red

2016 XL883L sigpic Two-tone blue and white. Almost 42 hp! Status: destroyed, now owned by the insurance company. The hole in my memory starts an hour before the accident and ends 24 hours after.

Comment

Actually I wanted to do it more for the look than the hp/sound and hoping that i wont need to install jet or exhaust system, i like the look and sound of the stock exhaust.. If anyone knows or already tried it.

Comment

You WILL need to re-jet. You must like the "look" an awful lot to want to put up with the hassle of re-jetting.

My son got his '82 650L with (cheap) pods and a pipe. I don't know how 'perfectly' the carbs are jetted (and I don't really know what jets are in there), but it seems to work OK. Might be able to improve the jetting a bit with some careful fine-tuning, but that is not for me, I'm leaving it just the way it is.

sigpic
        mine: 2000 Honda GoldWing GL1500SE and 1980 GS850G'K' "Junior"
        hers: 1982 GS850GL - "Angel" and 1969 Suzuki T250 Scrambler
        #1 son: 1986 Yamaha Venture Royale 1300 and 1982 GS650GL "Rat Bagger"
        #2 son: 1980 GS1000G
        Family Portrait
        Siblings and Spouses
        Mom's first ride