Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New Member, Carb removal Gs550e

Hello,

I am new to these parts. Well sort of new, I have been lurking for awhile. I got a "free" 1980 GS550E from a friend who needed to get it out of his storage locker. It seems to be in good condition. It's not beat to snot. Well when I got it I tried to get it running but the petcock was leaking and the battery was dead. I did get it to start and run a little before I gave up for the time being. It sat for another 2 years in my garage waiting for me to have the time. Well I ordered a new petcock and battery. Stuck both in just to see what would happen. Well it just turns over but no fire. I figured carbs need to be cleaned so that's where I'm at. One thing I did notice, When I pulled the tank the brand new petcock poured out fuel. It is set on the "on" position and still it flowed fuel. The leaver was very hard to move at first when I got it so I'm wondering if the vacuum side may also be just stuck. Anyone every have that? Next is the carbs on this thing. Is there a way to loosen the air box at all? I have the air cleaner out but can't see where to get any movement out of it to help me out. After that I will hope to attempt to start it again. Oh I did change the oil and filter.

Thanks

Loosen the rear inner fender, the battery box, the steel part of the air box and anything else that prevents the plastic half of the air box from moving aft. This will gain you almost an inch of space to work. The carburetors will come out but it's as hard a job as on as any GS, and a lot harder than most.

Yeah if you left gas in the system for two years it's probably going to be all clogged up. Next time drain the float bowls and disconnect the fuel line before it sits. If the petcock isn't shutting off and it hasn't sat with fuel in it for years there's a problem with it. Take it apart and see what's wrong.
    http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v5...tatesMap-1.jpg