GS650 carb adjust

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

GS650 carb adjust

Hi, I'm new in the motocycle world and on this forum. I'm from Quebec in Canada and it's why english is not very good, my first language is french.. I buy a GS650 GL 1982 for first bike. After clean the carbs and install pod filter, I start the bike. No surprise, I need tu adjust the carbs. The bike need a inspection to return on road and I need he runs okay for it. Do you have a how to for adjust the carbs? I don't know where begin. My only experience on carb is on my old scooter, on one carb, it's easy, but four carbs, I'm lost a little bit. Thank you for the help.

When you say "install pod filter" , do you mean each carb now has its own filter, or you just replaced the foam filter in the airbox? How about a picture of your carb setup?
    1981 gs650L

"We are all born ignorant, but you have to work hard to stay stupid" Ben Franklin

Comment

Sorry, the pic is on the side

image.jpg

Comment

Sorry, I'm a little bit noob... But I would learn to adjust it by myself

Comment

I forget to say this ! I have 2 white spark plug and 2 black...

Comment

Since you installed the pod filters, do you have the original airbox/air filter setup? I hope so, cuz these critters are very fussy about intakes changes. They will start and idle OK with pods, but will perform poorly unless the carbs are reworked properly.
            1981 gs650L

"We are all born ignorant, but you have to work hard to stay stupid" Ben Franklin

Comment

As Tom says, you need to rejet the carbs. Purchasing a jet kit designed for pods is the simple option, but not the cheap one. Dynojet and Sigma sell jet kits. Also, those pods you bought are the cheapest and crappiest available. Geting some real K&N brand pods is highly recommend if you insist on using pods. All this hassle can be avoided by simply leaving the bike stock though.
              Ed

To measure is to know.