GS550 carbs removal

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

GS550 carbs removal

Hi,I am new to my suzuki and to this forum so apologies if i make mistakes.
    I recently bought my 1878 gs550 from a friend who hadn't used it for 10 years, not even kicked it over. After a good clean, new battery etc, the bike starts and runs well. Its very jerky at low speeds 1st gear 2nd gear when in a line of traffic,but when revving it sounds fine. I just wonder after all that time sitting if the carb jets would be better with a clean, and if so can i remove carbs all together without disturbing anything, and not as the book says one at a time. Maybe you think leave well alone.
    Kind Regards
    del

You remove the carbs as a bank of four. Move the rear mudguard back a tad then undo the airbox mounting bolts and clips at the carbs and pull the airbox backwards. Undo the carb clips on the front hoses, fuel etc lines and pull the whole lot out. I always pull them out to the right - not sure if you can get them out on the left as I've never tried.

Undo the cables and the carbs are now free. If you're cleaning them you need to do a proper job - shortcuts end in problems. Beware that you have two pilot jets in line on your carbs and they both have to come out.
    Last edited by hampshirehog; 09-25-2016, 11:56 AM. Reason: Spelling
    79 GS1000S
    79 GS1000S (another one)
    80 GSX750
    80 GS550
    80 CB650 cafe racer
    75 PC50 - the one with OHV and pedals...
    75 TS100 - being ridden (suicidally) by my father

Comment

it just so happens there's a recent post to help...

Comment

many thanks ,a lot of good info.
        Del

Comment

I know that different parts of the world get new models at different times, but you got yours a LOT earlier than we did.
          Originally posted by delwil123 View Post
          I recently bought my 1878 gs550 from a friend who hadn't used it for 10 years, ...
          Originally posted by delwil123 View Post