Need help with gs 850 fuel system

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Need help with gs 850 fuel system

Hey, newbie here. Had a 1980 GS850L given to me. It had been sitting for 4 years. I cleaned the carburetors, changed tank(old one was rusty), new tires, etc. It won’t pump gas to the carbs. I first thought that the fuel cutoff valve lever was broken off but after looking on eBay to get a new petcock I see that there is no cutoff valve. Could somebody explain how the petcock functions and maybe diagnose it?

thanks

Comment

Hello and welcome. The fuel petcock is vacuum operated. By that I mean there is a vacuum hose, usually the one from #1 or #2 carb, near the cylinder head, which connects to the fuel petcock. When cranking or running intake vacuum is created and opens a valve in the petcock allowing gravity to feed fuel into the fuel line and into the carbs.

As for not seeing the "cut off valve" that is normal for the L series bikes. If you look closely you'll see a screwdriver slot where that lever would normally be. Don't put a screwdriver in there and start twisting it around. You'll be tempted to do it but DON'T until you know exactly what you're doing.

If the bike sat for 4 years and you are not experienced at cleaning carbs, I doubt that you got them really clean enough to actually run and idle. There are many How to's and Youtube videos explaining in detail how to clean the carbs. It's not just a matter of taking the carbs out and the bowls off and cleaning the grunge in the float bowls. Much more involved and precise process to clean carbs. Don't feel bad. We all started somewhere and in the beginning it would take 2 or 3 or even 5 times pulling the carbs to really get them clean.

Comment

Actually, go here

http://www.thegsresources.com/_forum...ers-CLICK-HERE!!

and read thru all of the links. There will be a factory service manual and a tutorial for carb cleaning
        1978 GS 1000 (since new)