CV Carb Blues

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

CV Carb Blues

Hi Folks, new member here. I know that this forum is for the much cooler "earlier" GS bikes not for the early 2000 GS500 I have but I'm hoping that you can help me with a carb problem I have. Bike is stock with stock pipes and airbox, clean filter, stock jets and needle, etc.

I’m a relaxed driver and hardly ever use WOT, however recently I had to drop a gear and go WOT to overtake a particularly annoying driver who was on their phone. However, as I got alongside the bike stumbled a few times accelerating between 6 and 7 k RPM so I had to abandon the overtake. Got quite a fright.

I have since managed to do this repeatable in testing afterwards on a quiet uphill back road. I can be in any gear and one can feel power drop out a few times when accelerating through 6-7k RPM. Stumble is almost non-existent if I close the throttle a little from WOT. Stumble is worse if under load (going uphill). Bike also seems to have more power if I close the throttle a little from WOT at various RPMs. Bike pulls strongly from 7 k rpm up to redline.

I understand the CV theory quite well but not how it plays out in practice. I am trying to understand two clues to decide to go leaner or richer (or something else) to try to attack this ( I don’t think it’s ignition as I can accelerate through that some RPM range no problem if the throttle is closed a bit from WOT). I understand that at the mid-RPM range where this problem is occuring I will be on the needle/needle jet range no matter where the throttle is, so the problem is probably their.

Clue 1: Closing throttle from WOT gives more power
    I’m struggling to picture exactly what happens in the carb when this occurs - is the mixture;
    - Getting richer due to the butterfly restricting the air a little or
    - Getting leaner due to the butterfly restriction causing the pressure to drop and dropping the needle, closing the needle valve or