Choke in cold weather (5c, 40f) on 1981 GS1000G

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Choke in cold weather (5c, 40f) on 1981 GS1000G

I have no experience with chokes, apart from my snow mower (and I don't really care how its engine runs as long as it mows). I have read the manual (2500 rpm max, but also read between 2000 and 3000 somewhere), and 50 seconds.

I start with full choke, and then push it in while putting on my gloves to keep it around 2500. After roughly a minute, I ride off (sometimes with a tiny bit of choke, sometimes I turn it all the way off). It has a tendency to stall if I take the choke off after 50 seconds.

My issue is when I ride off, the engine cuts out at around 4000-4500 rpm (like it slows down rather than speed up when giving throttle). This ONLY happens the first minute or two after leaving. Am I not choking it enough?

After the engine is properly warm after riding for a bit it idles fine.

Im imagining the manual is focused for people with a more sensible climate. The bike itself is warmer usually when I start it (the garage is heated to 18c/64.4f), when trying to start it in the winter, it did not like being started in the garage while the gas in the tank was bellow freezing (for water) temperatures. Should I choke it longer? How long?

Should I just keep the RPM low for the first part of the ride? I sometimes like to take a two minute detour around a neighbourhood to warm it up more (going trough roundabouts in traffic when it stalls at idle is sort of annoying).

I am also curious, how quickly does the bike cool down? Should I use the choke after having a coffe? A hamburger? A smoke? Bear in mind the temperature often is bellow 5c/40f on the mountains and away from the ocean.

Some people seem to keep the rpm much lower than 2500, I find that hard, sometimes when I push the knob it goes too low...