Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

86 GS550L refuses to start

Hi all,

Noob here. I have an 86 GS550L, purchased recently. Was having some electrical issues: battery wouldn't hold a charge and died after ~2hours of riding.

So I charged up the old battery and checked the generator with a multimeter. No problems there, 12V cold, constant 14ish V @ 3000rpm, so I should get a charge while riding. Concluded the battery was toast.

I installed a new battery and charged overnight. It rained that night, bike was outside but covered. Now, the starter will crank ad nauseum, but the engine won't fire. I checked the fuel delivery and carbs, no problems there. Drained and refilled the carbs, no water or gunk in the fuel. Took out each spark plug and verified that they fired. Checked electrical connections as best I could, no loose wires. Headlight, horn, turn signals work fine. Old battery, when charged, does not fix it. Checked air filter and intake for water, none evident.

Also of potential interest is that the tranny won't shift out of neutral. Clutch cable seems fine.

I'm thinking I shorted something when I put the new batt in. Either that or the rain got in somewhere and I gotta wait for it to dry. Any ideas?

Originally posted by SicTransitMundus View Post
    Hi all,

Noob here. I have an 86 GS550L, purchased recently. Was having some electrical issues: battery wouldn't hold a charge and died after ~2hours of riding.

So I charged up the old battery and checked the generator with a multimeter. No problems there, 12V cold, constant 14ish V @ 3000rpm, so I should get a charge while riding. Concluded the battery was toast.