fuel gauge not working

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

fuel gauge not working

hi, i have a 81 gs 650 and my fuel gauge shows almost full all the time. any idea on were to start on how to fix this? tank,wire,power or gauge? i just got the bike and i was told it was sitting up for a bit and not rode much over the last 2 years. thanks

perhaps the float arm is stuck in place? Maybe give the tank a good jolt, and if that doesnt work, take out the sending unit and give it the once over. I think there is a guide on Mr. BassCliff's site.

Comment

Mr. BassCliff's site? im new to the bike world. i jolted the tank a few times with no luck.

Comment

Originally posted by stingger View Post
        Mr. BassCliff's site?

Check over the quick connects you undo when you remove the tank. The bullet connectors may need cleaning or soldered to the wires.
        Last edited by bonanzadave; 01-09-2011, 06:50 PM.
        82 1100 EZ (red)

"You co-opting words of KV only thickens the scent of your BS. A thief and a putter-on of airs most foul. " JEEPRUSTY

Comment

man i wish i knew of that site when i did my carbs. thanks

Comment

Greetings and Salutations!!

Hi Mr. stingger,

Welcome to the party that is GS ownership. You'll find lots of GS lovin' here and on my little website. Let's get the party started!

I just stopped by to welcome you to the forum in my own, special way.

If there's anything you'd like to know about the Suzuki GS model bikes, and most others actually, you've come to the right place. There's a lot of knowledge and experience here in the community. Come on in and let me say "HOoooowwwDY!"....

Here is your very own magical, mystical, mythical, mind-expanding "mega-welcome". Please take notice of the "Top 10 Common Issues", the Carb Rebuild Series, and the Stator Papers. Now let me roll out the welcome mat for you...