Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

1985 GS550ES Igniter dead, advice needed please!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

1985 GS550ES Igniter dead, advice needed please!

Hi,

I have a 1985 GS550ES. I was checking the spark today and I decided to use a coil from a Yamanha YZF. Before using it, I checked the primary and secondary resistance and they were slightly off from the original suzuki ones. It began working fine while I was checking for sparks and then suddenly it stopped firing. I tried plugging the stock coils back and also did not get any spark. So now I think my igniter box is dead. I have checked fuses and wires, all is ok.

Could anyone help me locate one? I have tried ebay and google. I have been restoring this bike for 2 years now and I am almost done..
    If locating an igniter seems impossible, could I use a dyna s ds3-2 system instead? I understand that I can wire this system directly to the coils, my only question then is how does the ignition gets advanced since there is now igniter box anymore?

Please any input is welcome. I have been restoring this bike its been 2 years. I had every single metal part sand blasted and powder coated, including the frame. Shes looking awesome, but now I need to figure out these electrical issues.

Victor,
    I can just point you to these threads:

Good luck!

Comment

Do what I am doing get a Dyna 2000 and not have to worry when it will go out again. Everyone on here that has one loves them and say they are worth every penny.

Dyna 2000

Dyna 2000 instructions

Comment

Thanks for the replies.
        I did do a search before posting on this and I did see the one that adapted a 750 unit by modifying the pick up mount. I dont want to do it that way as I just felt it was too rigged, No offense to anyone please. I just been trying to restore the bike back to its factory specs so I am just trying to keep it as original as possible and clean as well.