Starter is growling

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Starter is growling

For starters (hehe)...I have a 1983 GS850GL.
    When I turn the key on and press the start button all I get is a growl coming from the starter. No clicking, no turning over....just a growling noise. I don't know how else to describe it so I apologize. If you'd like I can attempted to record a sound clip and upload it. I'm assuming something is broke and its not an electrical problem. I just don't have enough knowledge to know if its the starter solenoid, starter motor or anything else pertaining to the start of my bike. But since I am new to all this I figured I'd ask you all. Any help is greatly appreciated!

We need a lot more information

Did you just get this bike?

Did it just start doing this?

Take off your right side cover and find the solenoid - does it click when you hit the starter button?

Try "jumping" the solenoid posts with a screwdriver. Turn over now?

It's time to break out your VOM and see what voltage you have where. Could be

Bad battery
    Corroded connections
    Dirty solenoid
    Dirty starter
    Leaky petcock

Check your oil level - is there gas in your oil?

Take the spark plugs out - does it turn over now?
    1978 GS 1000 (since new)
    1979 GS 1000 (The Fridge, superbike replica project)
    1978 GS 1000 (parts)
    1981 GS 850 (anyone want a project?)
    1981 GPZ 550 (backroad screamer)
    1970 450 Mk IIID (THUMP!)
    2007 DRz 400S
    1999 ATK 490ES
    1994 DR 350SES

Comment

Starter problem

If you hear a "growling noise" and it's coming "from" the starter, you've already isolated the problem because you know (a) you're getting juice to your starter (so there's nothing wrong with the solenoid) and (b) your starter isn't turning over even though it's getting power. (Starters go 'belly up' every so often but they're easy to work on.)