My Bike Just Died In the Middle of A Ride

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

My Bike Just Died In the Middle of A Ride

I was on my way home from work last night and my bike started to lose power like it was almost out of fuel. I switched the petcock over to the reserve position, but it continued to slow down and then just died.

I tried starting it again and got nothing. No lights, no sound.

I'm still new to all of this, but my first guess is that the stator or the r/r are at fault. I've read up on how to test the stator, which is great if the bike is still running and you have a multimeter. No joy on either for me at the moment.

The battery is brand new. Even if it was fried, it wouldn't have caused the bike to die while it was still running. I literally just went over all the connections and grounds on the wiring harness last week, which fixed a problem I was having with the headlight and taillight not working. This is why I suspect something in the charging system is amiss.

Any thoughts our input would be appreciated.
    Last edited by Guest; 09-13-2011, 01:57 PM.

If your stator and/or R/R are bad it probably wore down your battery. Check the voltage on the battery and hook it up to a charger to restore its power. Then you should be able to do the Stator Paper tests to find/confirm your charging problem.

Multimeters are pretty cheap. If you are in the city and need help, I have a charger, multimeter and a spare battery.

Comment

Yes, in all likelihood either you wore down your battery or you blew your main fuse. Is anything working now? Headlamp, tail lights, indicators? You really should have a multitester. Not all of the tests in the stator papers require a running bike. For example, you could do the resistance tests on the stator or the diode tests on the r/r.

First check the main fuse. If it's blown that's probably because your charging system is shot and the bike is drawing too much current from the battery.