Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

1982 GS650 G - battery ground question

Hi Folks,

As I'm a newbie to not only the world of motorcycles, but the gs forums as well, a little introduction first. Let me premise this by saying that I'm not much of a wrencher, however, as I really want to get this bike up and running I'm eager to learn and go through the necessary process to get my bike in tip top shape.

I've got a 1982 GS650G with 9k miles on it. It's running, however the battery is not charging (surprise, surprise! I know, stator/RR test are in order). The bike has some rust on it, particularly the battery box. I've looked at the wiring diagram for my bike, and it shows two grounds coming from the negative battery terminal. On my bike, these are grounded to the battery box.

The terminals on these grounds, as well as the location of the grounds, are rusty and corroded (see photo) and clearly need to be replaced. As I'm trying to learn as much as possible, my question is the following: In theory, if these two grounds were completely cut out, how would it affect the performance of the electrical system / bike? I thought the main battery cable from the negative terminal to the crank case was the battery ground. As usual, any and all input is greatly appreciated.

Also, should I be looking for a specific gauge wire to replace these grounds with?

Thanks,
    Daniel