New here....plz help! bike not charging

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New here....plz help! bike not charging

hi, new here. i got a 85 gs700e, and bought i new battery bout a month ago cuz the one i had i thought was junk cuz it didnt seem to hold a charge but to find out the bike i dont think is charging the battery. im new to motorcyles, im not even sure where to really start. well today i jumped it to get started and it died about 2mins after sittin there and was completly dead, so charged the battery and started again and tested the volatage and it was only gettin like 8v and reved it to like 5k and got about only 10v, so i know it should be up near13-14v, any ideas what to check and how? thanks!

Welcome to the site, here is your mega welcome package you can go to BassCliff web site and look for the stator test, and stator replacement, and have a look here as well

Hi Mr. Jtreat,

Let me dump a TON of information on you and share some GS lovin'.

I just stopped by to welcome you to the forum in my own, special way.

If there's anything you'd like to know about the Suzuki GS model bikes, and most others actually, you've come to the right place. There's a lot of knowledge and experience here in the community. Come on in and let me say "HOoooowwwDY!"....

Here is your very own magical, mystical, mythical, mind-expanding "mega-welcome". Please take notice of the "Top 10 Common Issues", "Top 15 Tips For GS Happiness", the Carb Cleanup Series, and the Stator Papers. All of these tasks must be addressed in order to have a safe, reliable machine. This is what NOT to do: Top 10 Newbie Mistakes. Now let me roll out the welcome mat for you...

Please click here for your mega-welcome, chock full of tips, suggestions, links to vendors, and other information. Then feel free to visit my little BikeCliff website where I've been collecting the wisdom of this generous community. Don't forget, we like pictures! Not you, your bike!