Battery keeps going dead

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Battery keeps going dead

I have a 1982 gs850g. The battery kept going dead on it when I bought it two years ago. After about 2 weeks of daily commuting the battery wouldn't start the bike. I noticed starts getting harder progressively up to no start. Put it on the battery charger and good for another 2-3 weeks. I've been doing this for two years. I replaced the battery with a new one and ran the through the charging system test in the stator papers. My results are: with my headlight unplugged (I live in US) and engine at idle I get 13.1V that slowly creeps up to 13.45V. Revving the engine to 5000RPM drops the Volts to about 13.25. When I plug the headlight in and retest the charge being received I get 12.1V and slowly creeps up to 12.4V. But again it goes down when I rev the engine. I tested the stator output and the r/r diodes. All tests performed well and don't seem to be the problem. One other note, one of the wire connections from the stator was slightly burnt. The other two had a little blackness on them also. I replaced he connections and the results are what I listed above. Any ideas on where to start looking?

How is your R/R ground? What kind of AC voltage do you get out of the stator?
    Ed

To measure is to know.

Mikuni O-ring Kits For Sale...https://www.thegsresources.com/_foru...ts#post1703182

Top Newbie Mistakes thread...http://www.thegsresources.com/_forum...d.php?t=171846

Carb rebuild tutorial...https://gsarchive.bwringer.com/mtsac...d_Tutorial.pdf

KZ750E Rebuild Thread...http://www.thegsresources.com/_forum...0-Resurrection

Comment

You're sure the tests checked out?
      Even if all tests check out, you can still have faulty components.

You should easily have 13v with headlights On(bike running at idle)
      Sounds like a RR or Stator problem, because it's not working under Load.

Comment