1981 GS 450 charging problem

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

1981 GS 450 charging problem

So I'm new to the GS 450 & to the board. I've been searching the forums for an answer, but can't seem to get a simple, concise one.

Bought the bike last week & the previous owner thought there was a charging problem.

Fast forward.....

I'm measuring approx 13.04 VDC at the battery terminals when the engine is running....at all RPM's. (shold be 14.4 or so, correct?)

Per the repair manual, I should measure 75+ VAC on the disconnected output wires from the alternator.....I'm measuring 69 or 70 VAC.

Does this sound like a bad alternator/stator?

Can someone give me a quick breakdown of the correct voltages & resistance readings from the various components (Alternator, Recifier, Batter, etc.)

If the answer is somewhere on the boards, I apologize....but I couldn't find it....there's a lot of talk about the electrical system, but it ends up being more in-depth than I'm looking for.

Thanks.

Hi babes.

Sorry i cant help you but im sure.someone will be along very soon.....

Its like busses... You wait for ages, then 3 come alobg all together!!!

Welcome to the forum though.
    Xxx

Comment

That should be good on the three output wires from the stator.
      I was keeping my battery charged with about half that, lol.

The R/R is what you want to test next, and this is how

I found one of my circuits in my R/R blown yesterday and now one leg of the stator is only making 2.5vac!

on this page you will find everything you are looking for and then some.

Good luck!

Tank

Comment

Thanks, I'll check it out.....

But by all means, if anyone else comes across my post & has something to add, I'd appreciate any further help.

Comment

Originally posted by rogue1313 View Post
          Thanks, I'll check it out.....

But by all means, if anyone else comes across my post & has something to add, I'd appreciate any further help.