Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Starter button only works 30% of the time. Where do I start?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Starter button only works 30% of the time. Where do I start?

Preface: I've been working on my 81 GS650G for a few months now. With cleaned out carbs and adjusted valves and a petcock that doesn't leak, it's riding like an absolute DREAM compared to how I got it. Wouldn't have been possible without the guidance from GSR so thanks for everything, everyone.

Now that it runs really well, I'm starting to work on the weirder glitches. Here's one: my starter button works only about one in three times I press it. This is when the bike is cold. I'll put in the keys, pull out the choke, squeeze the clutch, switch it to "on" and then push in the starter button. Usually, literally nothing at all happens. No sound, no engine trying and failing to turn over, just nothing. I'll flip the engine cutoff switch off then back on, then press the starter again. Usually nothing again. After a few tries, though, it'll actually work, and it'll start right up, no problem.

Where do I start looking to fix this? I'm thinking a loose connection in the starter button or something maybe, but is there anywhere else I should be checking?

my money is on a marginal starter interlock switch.
    Try wiggling the clutch lever up and down while you have it pulled in.

My lever has a bit of free play that requires me to pull back and slightly upwards to make contact.

Comment

strip out and check all the contacts are clean and secure in the starter button and kill switch to start with, then the clutch safety switch,and make sure it is operating correctly
      1978 GS1085.

Just remember, an opinion without 3.14 is just an onion!

Comment

Start by deleting the clutch safety switch by connecting the two wires that go to the switch in the headlight bucket.
        Then spray some penetrating oil into the start switch and see how well it works then.