Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Embarrassing, but we all need to start somewhere: How do I start my GS750?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Embarrassing, but we all need to start somewhere: How do I start my GS750?

Brand new to the motorcycle world. Bought a running 1978 GS750 that had no brakes, no lights, missing a multitude of other little things. I put in new brakes, time to fire her up.

I bought her from a kid who at the time informed me the battery was dead, but only a year old. OK, I'll put it on my charger. As you might have guessed it ended up being too low for the charger to even recognize so that won't work.

When I bought the bike, the owner kickstarted it for me. One-kick pony, though I suppose she was probably warm at the time. For the life of me I can't get it to kick. He had told me sometime you need to roll it to get it to catch...

So I am a total newbie to the world of bikes, and my only experience with things like chokes and primers is lawnmowers and paint. Here's what I've been trying: petcock set on prime, choke all the way open. Bike is in neutral. When I kick it the motor turns but doesn't even sound like it's close to firing. I'm 210lbs so I'm getting some force on it.

I was going to jump it off my car battery (car not running of course) but I want to be sure my petcock, choke, and ignition key are all in the right position so I'm not cranking my bike and then end up with a dead car too. How long can I keep my petcock on prime before it floods? Choke wide open? What are my ignition positions? Looks like I only get power when it's vertical (where it gives me the neutral light).

And for kickstarting, does this rolling sound familiar? What's the objective? Rolling in neutral seems useless.

Thanks!