Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Corroded points plates

Hey all,

I've been trying to narrow down why I only have weak spark off of one coil, and it's led me to this:

It would appear that a fair amount of water has been getting in there and causing some corrosion. I'm not an expert by any means, but this looks bloody terrible compared to the pictures of nice gold plates I see on the web.

Is replacement in order or should I attempt to clean these somehow? I found a fairly cheap set of points plates online, so I'm tempted to just replace them. My only concern with that is setting the dynamic timing...is this something that a reasonably intelligent fellow with some time on his hands could figure out?
    Last edited by Guest; 07-22-2013, 02:06 PM.

Make sure the cam is good and the advance moves freely.
    Replace the points and condensers
    Clean up the plate.
    1983 GS 1100E w/ 1230 kit, .340 lift Web Cams, Ape heavy duty valve springs, 83 1100 head with 1.5mm oversized SS intake valves, 1150 crank, Vance and Hines 1150 SuperHub, Star Racing high volume oil pump gears, 36mm carebs Dynojet stage 3 jet kit, Posplayr's SSPB, Progressive rear shocks and fork springs, Dyna 2000, Dynatek green coils and Vance & Hines 4-1 exhaust.
    1985 GS1150ES stock with 85 Red E bodywork.

Comment

The manual clearly runs you through static timing, you just need a feeler gauge and some sort of light source for a 12 volt system. If water is getting in there it won't do your points any good while your riding, make sure you fix the leak problem as well.
      Rob
      1983 1100ES, 98' ST1100, 02' DR-Z400E and a few other 'bits and pieces'
      Are you on the GSR Google Earth Map yet? http://www.thegsresources.com/_forum...d.php?t=170533

Comment

Originally posted by chef1366 View Post
        Make sure the cam is good and the advance moves freely.
        Replace the points and condensers
        Clean up the plate.