Battery issue...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Battery issue...

Hey all, I'm new to working on bikes. If anything I'm asking is stupid I apologize ahead of time.

I bought a 1980 gs850 gt off of craigslist a few weeks ago,
    And it when I bought it, it would only start if it was being jumped by a car.

So I figured hey it must be the battery, so I hooked it up to my charger. Instantly the charger read full. And the guy I purchased it from said he had just bought a new battery.

I'm wondering if he may have bought a battery that's too weak?

Any tips or ideas?

you're doomed...
    GSX1300R NT650 XV535

Comment

Welcome. It sounds like you have a dud battery. The easiest way to check is to have an autostore put it on a load tester and verify for you.

Its not uncommon so you likely will need to replace it.

so now that you are on board we need some pics of your bike and some ideas of what you intend to do with it. Also its helpful if you go into the user CP area and fill in your location and such. There may be someone local to you that you can call in for consultations if needed.

So good luck with the battery dilemma and enjoy the ride when you get it sorted.

Comment

Hopefully that car was NOT running when you jumped the bike.

Yes, it really matters, you do NOT want to have a donor vehicle running when connected to the bike.

sigpic
        mine: 2000 Honda GoldWing GL1500SE and 1980 GS850G'K' "Junior"
        hers: 1982 GS850GL - "Angel" and 1969 Suzuki T250 Scrambler
        #1 son: 1986 Yamaha Venture Royale 1300 and 1982 GS650GL "Rat Bagger"
        #2 son: 1980 GS1000G
        Family Portrait
        Siblings and Spouses
        Mom's first ride
        Want a copy of my valve adjust spreadsheet for your 2-valve per cylinder engine? Send me an e-mail request (not a PM)
        (Click on my username in the upper-left corner for e-mail info.)

Comment

Alright haha well I definitely had it running....