Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Stator Cover Bolt Diagram ?

Hello Gs Enthusiasts,
    My apologies up front, I am a true blue novice! Today I removed the stator cover to mend a slight leek in the left casing of my 1978 GS 750. I meticulously set each bolt on top of a bucket in the order in which I removed them and then promptly knocked it over
    There are seven bolts of I believe three different sizes and I cannot for the life of me remember which goes where. I've scoured my manual as well as the internet for some sort of a diagram but no such luck.
    Any advice from a seasoned vet would be much appreciated!
    Thanks for your time!

Bolts

It is rather easy to figure out, as the bolts usually have .375 to .5 inch of thread that screws into the case. Just put the cover back in place and then start placing bolts in the holes. If it sticks out an inch, then it is too long for that spot. If it won't catch a thread or only catches one or two, then it is to short for that spot. Don't be in a hurry and you will figure it out. Don't force the bolts and you will be ok.
    1981 GS 1000GLX.
    1981 GS 1000G.
    1981 GS 650GLX.
    1975 TS 185.
    1972 100. Kawasaki.
    1968 100. Suzuki.
    1970 Z 50. Honda.
    1984 CT 70. Honda. (Kids)
    1982 DS 50. Suzuki. (Kids)

Comment

Yeah, put all the screws in place loosely to judge how much they stick out; arrange all until they stick out roughly the same amount then tighten.
      Ed

To measure is to know.

Mikuni O-ring Kits For Sale...https://www.thegsresources.com/_foru...ts#post1703182

Top Newbie Mistakes thread...http://www.thegsresources.com/_forum...d.php?t=171846

Carb rebuild tutorial...https://gsarchive.bwringer.com/mtsac...d_Tutorial.pdf

KZ750E Rebuild Thread...http://www.thegsresources.com/_forum...0-Resurrection

Comment