Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

82 GS650 No Start (yes im a noob, sorry in advance for posting a no start thread)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

82 GS650 No Start (yes im a noob, sorry in advance for posting a no start thread)

So long story short I have 2 identical 1892 GS650L bikes. I got one running enough to ride it around the block, but it was in need of a carb rebuild, it didn't like it if you gave it too much throttle, would just die out.

I picked up the second bike because it had a lot of new parts, less miles, better cond ect..

I bought them both non running. I still can't get the 2nd bike to even pop over.

At first it had a slow crank / odd cranking behavior (if cranked for more than a few seconds it would get slower and slower like it had too much resistance).

What I have done:

Cleaned up some wiring including the main ground and resolved the cranking issue.

Bought and charged a new battery, my previous one tested at 150CA.

Swapped over the R/R, Ignitor, and tank off of my other bike.

Tested for spark (have spark not sure how strong though)

Checked fuel bowls in all 4 carbs, they all had fuel.

The PO replaced the stator (3 yellow wires, is that the bad one?)

"Rebuilt the carbs and synced" - he said he spend 60 bucks on parts, I'm not sure how great of a job he did so I am going to go back through them.

I also found that the ignitor had been cut open and glued back together, so I don't know if he did a repair (successfully or not).

I went through a can of starting fluid with the bike cranking like hell on a fully charged battery and didn't get so much as a pop. I may try the Mr. Matchless ignition coil relay mod.

Any clue what my issue might be?

Have you tried to contact Steve on this forum?

Comment