Help with brake Lights

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Help with brake Lights

Hey everyone this is my first time posting to the forum. I am nearing the completion of my first cafe rebuild and i'm having trouble getting my brake lights, neutral, and oil pressure lights working. I have built a custom rear end with aftermarket led lights as my brake/ tail and rear turn signals. I have the tail light and all turn signals working as well as the high beam indicator and the turn signal indicator lights. I removed the gear indicator and fuel gauge from the system. I know all of my problem lights are on the same series and I have power going to all of them. I was hoping for some advise on trouble shooting this problem. Thanks a bunch of course.
    Attached Files

Gonna have to tell us what bike so we can post a link to a wiring diagram.

Comment

Originally posted by sevtovit View Post
      Hey everyone this is my first time posting to the forum. I am nearing the completion of my first cafe rebuild and i'm having trouble getting my brake lights, neutral, and oil pressure lights working. I have built a custom rear end with aftermarket led lights as my brake/ tail and rear turn signals. I have the tail light and all turn signals working as well as the high beam indicator and the turn signal indicator lights. I removed the gear indicator and fuel gauge from the system. I know all of my problem lights are on the same series and I have power going to all of them. I was hoping for some advise on trouble shooting this problem. Thanks a bunch of course.
      If you have power then you just need a ground. Obviously the brake will only get power when the levers are pressed.

Also I hope you don't have all the lights in series as you mention above; should all be in parallel so they each see 12V.

Comment

What model/year was this bike before your handiwork?
        For brake light, check for 12 volt positive at rear brake switch.