Did I fry my igniter?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Did I fry my igniter?

Hello all, newbie here so cut me some slack.

Ealier this year I had a crank but no start issue. I determined it to be the igniter and replaced it. My bike was running after that but still not well so I pulled the carbs off. During disassembly I dropped a wrench and it arced across the battery terminals. Today I put the carbs back in and had a crank no start symptom again, but I didn't try very long or hard to get it to run because the battery was low on juice.

Would the wrench arcing across the battery cause my igniter to fail, again?

Nope .
    http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v5...tatesMap-1.jpg

Life is too short to ride an L.

Comment

Remember that you can boost the bike's battery from a NON running vehicle.
      Did you use "PR" on petcock to refill your carb bowls? Might as well check for correct petcock operation too.
      1981 gs650L

"We are all born ignorant, but you have to work hard to stay stupid" Ben Franklin

Comment

Well that's good news! I didn't use prime, although in hindsight I should've. I'll report back after putting more effort into getting her to fire.

Comment

Can you remember the last time the valves were adjusted?

If not, it's past time to check them.

sigpic
          mine: 2000 Honda GoldWing GL1500SE and 1980 GS850G'K' "Junior"
          hers: 1982 GS850GL - "Angel" and 1969 Suzuki T250 Scrambler
          #1 son: 1986 Yamaha Venture Royale 1300 and 1982 GS650GL "Rat Bagger"
          #2 son: 1980 GS1000G
          Family Portrait
          Siblings and Spouses
          Mom's first ride
          Want a copy of my valve adjust spreadsheet for your 2-valve per cylinder engine? Send me an e-mail request (not a PM)
          (Click on my username in the upper-left corner for e-mail info.)

Comment