Battery Recommendations?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Battery Recommendations?

Real quick back story, I got an 83 GS1100GL for free and hasn't ran in about 10 years. So, one of the first things I've done is put the battery on a charger. It looked visually flawless but I had my serious doubts about a battery that's been sitting for that long. After about 20 hours on the charger, it went from 5.5v to 12.1v. So I put it back on the charger for another 10 hours or so. It's still at 12.1v. I'm fairly new to all this but I am fairly confident the battery is a goner. The bike is partially disassembled and is at least weeks away from starting so a load test isn't possible right now, at least on the bike.

Question 1. Am I likely correct about this?

Question 2. Any recommendations on a new one? I've looked at multiple batteries and prices vary wildly. Price is definitely a factor for me but I don't want garbage of course. I was leaning towards a 210cca lead acid battery which was about $60 made by Scorpion. That said, I have no clue who Scorpion is and am hesitant to buy what may be an off brand for something so important.

The bike is stock and I have no crazy electronic plans in the future. Just looking for the best bang for my buck in what will be a nearly daily ride. I used the search function but couldn't find any answer. Thanks in advance all!

Sealed is the way to go if available.

Comment

Agm..................

Comment

AGM, and AGM only. All AGM batteries are sealed, but not all sealed batteries are AGMs. The others are not much better than regular old lead acid batteries.

Life is too short to ride an L.

Comment

Please note that "AGM" is not a brand, it's a construction style. AGM batteries are available from most major manufacturers, you can even get them at Auto Zone and Wal-Mart. Batteries Plus has a couple models that will run about $80-90, others can be found on the interwebs for about half that.