Cleaning up wires

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Cleaning up wires

Working on making my 82 GS1100GLK into a bobber ( I know a lot of people aren't fans) and looking at cleaning up/getting rid of wires. In theory I would like to make it not as messy and have space somewhat open where fuse box is currently now and maybe put it behind the battery tray? Is there certain wires I can get rid of? Anyone have ideas and pictures?

Thanks

I'm no expert on the electrical stuff (Steve can confirm that! ), but there are a number of circuits you don't really need in the loom. Things like the kickstand switch, neutral switch, fuel gauge, the stator leg that is run up through the ignition switch, the self-canceling turn signals, etc. If you pare it down to the bare essentials that will simplify things and make hiding what is left easier.

Mark
    1982 GS1100E
    1998 ZX-6R
    2005 KTM 450EXC

Comment

Originally posted by mmattockx View Post
      I'm no expert on the electrical stuff (Steve can confirm that! ), but there are a number of circuits you don't really need in the loom. Things like the kickstand switch, neutral switch, fuel gauge, the stator leg that is run up through the ignition switch, the self-canceling turn signals, etc. If you pare it down to the bare essentials that will simplify things and make hiding what is left easier.

Mark
      I am not expert in wiring either, which is why I convinced my step dad to help me (a 37 year and 65 year old tackling this project lol.) Wouldn't I need the N switch so it starts and also the kickstand switch? I can get rid of the fuel gauge wire as I get speedo and tach from Dime City Cycles with no fuel gauge but may go with a bobber tube style fuel gauge. I want to put the wiring and fuse box behind battery tray to clean up sides.

Comment

First of all, I want to know about this "1982 GS1100GLK".

There was a GL and a GK, but no GLK.

Originally posted by Jmanor View Post