Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

GS550 r/r test and wiring question

Hi,
    After replacing stator with new one, I finaly got voltage on it's output wires, but still no battery charging.
    My r/r unit is a SH232-12, I performed a diode test from BikeCliff's page and have similar readings except one.
    At point 2 of procedure
    2) Reversing the leads, putting the (-) lead on the sense wire:

The (+) connection reads:
    Red output = +OL
    Green ground = ~ 1.5v
    All yellow inputs = +OL
    my readings is: Green ground = 0.86v, is it correct or is my r/r bad ?

Second question is about wiring and fuse box, under right cover I found some melted plastics, and probably some not original wires. I'm not an electrician, but hopefully with wiring diagram, mulitmeter and your help will try to fix this problem.

Here is a picture of what I found, any ideas what is wrong here ?
    What for is the small fuse box in the center if there is only one red (+) wire connected ?

Thanks for any advices
    Last edited by Guest; 11-06-2016, 04:21 AM. Reason: photo added

" finaly got voltage on it's output wires, but still no battery charging."

Let's start here... what AC readings did you get with your new stator (disconected from r/r) ?
    I used a sh232, but never tested the sense circuit per Basscliff. I did run a sh-232 with sense wire disconnected for a while as a test with a weak stator.
    1981 gs650L

"We are all born ignorant, but you have to work hard to stay stupid" Ben Franklin

Comment