Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Series R/R installations at the GSR

UPDATE 12/23/2016
    Sorry I was not aware there was such an animal as 55403. It is rated as 40 amps and IIRC the 55402 is 35 amps. I have no first hand knowledge bu t did read this thread that is more recent from 2014 taking about issues at higher RPM with the Series R/Rs.

I have never seen this type of issue, but would not rule it out especially with the number of reports. I would generally always shift before 10K on my GS1100E and only was there for a sustained period to about 10.5K while jetting with an O2 sensor. These are all non-GS reports so if it is happening on a GS it is probably very temporary.

The Compufires were designed for Harleys which seem to redline at closer to 6K RPM. GS RPM ranges don't seem to be any problem but maybe a Ducati is ?

http://www.triumphrat.net/speed-trip...rmation-6.html
    This is a poll to capture the service life of the Series R/R installations at the GSR. Pick those that apply to you; you can vote more than option but dont think you can vote for a single option more than once.

Little Background/History:

It has been about 6 years since the Series R/Rs have gone mainstream on the GSR as well as other websites around the internet. Some cottage industry manufactures (Cycle Electric and Compufire) have been building series R/Rs for the Harley Davidson market, but this was relatively unknown.

The Honda 6 wire R/R's promoted by Duaneage were also a popular inexpensive alternative that offered significantly better reliability despite also being a shunt R/R.

In about this same time frame, the MOSFET R/R's were becoming popular as well as a better replacement to the OEM R/Rs. These are all still SHUNT R/R. I had a MOSFET R/R installed and had almost immediate heating damage to a baby blue Electrosport stator after just 250 miles ride.