Engine kill box design

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Engine kill box design

Posting because we have EE's on board here, and I am not one although I was a tech for years. I can't see paying $200 for a box that kills your ignition for 50-100 milliseconds. The basic design seems quite simple, a 555 timer IC as a one-shot. Should be able to use a variable resistance to set the time period, driving a couple FETs to either ground the low side of the coils, or open the high side, for <$20. Wondering about the pros and cons of either. Will a Dyna-S module stand up to being grounded? Will opening the + to the coils or the Dyna cause a big backfire when it is reconnected? I am not after the last thousandth of ET by counting shifts and reducing the kill time, I just want my Air Shifter to work. Any ideas?
    sigpic
    09 Kaw C14 Rocket powered Barcalounger
    1983 GS1100e
    82\83 1100e Frankenbike
    1980 GS1260
    Previous 65 Suzuki 80 Scrambler, 76 KZ900, 02 GSF1200S, 81 GS1100e, 80 GS850G

Originally posted by bobgroger View Post
    Posting because we have EE's on board here, and I am not one although I was a tech for years. I can't see paying $200 for a box that kills your ignition for 50-100 milliseconds. The basic design seems quite simple, a 555 timer IC as a one-shot. Should be able to use a variable resistance to set the time period, driving a couple FETs to either ground the low side of the coils, or open the high side, for <$20. Wondering about the pros and cons of either. Will a Dyna-S module stand up to being grounded? Will opening the + to the coils or the Dyna cause a big backfire when it is reconnected? I am not after the last thousandth of ET by counting shifts and reducing the kill time, I just want my Air Shifter to work. Any ideas?
    $5 parts,
    $50 prototype board
    $500 design time
    $1000 integration and test.

Comment