Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Indicator hell!!!

Hi All,

Final stages of my first GS build which ive been working on for over 12 months. And im now getting beaten after all i have been through by some front indicators!!! i have draw a rough wiring diagram below of my set up in three different configurations.

Basically i have new indicators with just a green and blue wire. when connecting them and signal left i get a left flash but also a faded flash on the right and vice versa. I swapped the wires round for the right indicator and its the same. If I then swap the left indicator wires round I only get a very slow and dying tick noise from the flash relay and a very faded lit bulb on both L&R indicators.

indicator.jpg

My research suggested that the 'leak' could be because there is only 1 indicator instrument bulb (on the panel/dash) whether you signal left or right, so purposely leaks a little power from each indicator to glow this pannel bulb but shouldn't at the indicator because the old ones wouldn't glow with such small amount of power. But LEDs will as they only need a very small amount. i dont have the old ones to check, and dont want to start pulling those wires out if its just s simple fix.

Really appreciate anyone's help and advice.

Thanks
    SW

For a start it would help if you tell us what Gs you have and the year best doing this by putting that info in your signature so every time you post a question the info is generated automatically.
    i think this is what you require look at post#4 in the link
    The big guy up there rides a Suzuki (this I know)
    1981 gs850gx

1999 RF900
    past bikes. RF900
    TL1000s
    Hayabusa
    gsx 750f x2
    197cc Francis Barnett
    various British nails

Comment

Originally posted by fastbysuzuki View Post