Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

GS1000S indicator control

Hi,
    Slowly getting through rebuild of a 1979 GS1000S and am trying to check and repair the wiring loom and electrics which are a bit of a mess.
    The bike wasn't complete when bought and going through the wiring it looks like the self-cancelling control box had been removed and binned.
    The smaller connector has been 'shorted' out with a couple of loop wires and I wondered if this means the indicators will work but not self-cancel or will not work at all.
    Can't find a control box anywhere for sale so guess these often fail and supply is drying up.
    Any ideas welcome.
    Cheers,
    Andy

If the control box is missing, the self-cancel feature will be missing, as well.

Whether they work manually or not will have to be verified. I know the '79 self-cancel function and control box is drastically different than the '80 and later boxes, and I have no experience with them, so can't help much beyond that.

sigpic
    mine: 2000 Honda GoldWing GL1500SE and 1980 GS850G'K' "Junior"
    hers: 1982 GS850GL - "Angel" and 1969 Suzuki T250 Scrambler
    #1 son: 1986 Yamaha Venture Royale 1300 and 1982 GS650GL "Rat Bagger"
    #2 son: 1980 GS1000G
    Family Portrait
    Siblings and Spouses
    Mom's first ride
    Want a copy of my valve adjust spreadsheet for your 2-valve per cylinder engine? Send me an e-mail request (not a PM)
    (Click on my username in the upper-left corner for e-mail info.)

Comment

Look up 1978-79 GS1000 wiring diagram, (Not the E or S models), it did not use a TSCU- turn signal control unit. Maybe you can can wire things up accordingly. By the way, a lot more things go through that unit than just the turn signals, so you need to pay close attention. I just had an issue with my left side turn signals not working. Turns out my horn wiring connectors were involved. All good now. Good luck.

Comment

Originally posted by AndyD View Post
        Hi,