Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Only firing cylinders 2 and 3 - Timing off?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Only firing cylinders 2 and 3 - Timing off?

Hi,

I have a '81 GS550L and got the bike running this morning after installing a Dyna S ignition and rebuilding the carburetors.

I noticed that the bike only runs on choke and dies with throttle or when I take the choke off and decided to check the plugs.

Only plugs 2 and 3 have any kind of soot on them, while 1 and 4 have no soot.

Is this a problem with the timing? 1 and 4 are not firing at the correct time?

I am new to all of this so sorry if this is obvious.

Thanks,
    Kyle

first I’d pull those plugs, plug them back in to their caps and one at a time, touch the threads against the engine as you crank. Should see spark. if you do, problem is likely fuel/carbs. If you don’t see spark....

1 and 4 are fired by the same coil, so I’d look at the voltage in from both wires to and at the front of that coil and the voltage out of both HT leads from the coil at the plug caps.

did the bike run before? What changed? Did something happen to cause the timing to be off?
    Rich
    1982 GS 750TZ
    2015 Triumph Tiger 1200

BikeCliff's / Charging System Sorted / Posting Pics
    Destroy-Rebuild 750T/ Destroy-Rebuild part deux

Comment

Was running 6 months ago but throttle cable broke and decided to call it for the winter, took some parts off the bike to re-paint. Emptied the carburetors immediately in the winter and rebuilt them recently with a kit as the jets were all stripped. Then added the Dyna-s recently as well. Today was my first time starting it since the winter.

I've checked for spark as you said earlier and all 4 plugs were giving spark.

I will check the voltage as you say soon.
      Last edited by Guest; 05-07-2020, 06:02 PM.

Comment