Getting access to spark plugs

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Getting access to spark plugs

Hello again, this is the 3rd time I've registered, I only ride in the summer and I guess my account gets deleted every winter if I don't use it for 6 months

Anyway, getting my 1983 GS750E back on the road this week. Charged up the battery and using a battery booster pack, but no luck starting yet. It's been sitting for quite a while, so not a big surprise.

I have the fuel on PRI, it's cranking but not catching. Choke wide open. Maybe I flooded it, dunno.

Anyway I figure I should start with the easy stuff, like having a look at the spark plugs. I know my way around cars but I'm new to bikes, and I don't have anywhere to really work on it (except in the alley behind my apt building).

Obviously I'm going to have to take off the gas tank to get to the middle 2 spark plugs, what's the procedure for that? Looks like a couple of bolts on rubber mounts, easy enough. What about the fuel hoses? Is gas going to start pouring out?

Thanks
    Skye

No need to remove the tank to change the plugs. Get ya a longer extension for your ratchet.

Welcome (back).
    sigpic

82 GS850
    78 GS1000
    04 HD Fatboy

...............................____
    .................________-|___\____
    ..;.;;.:;:;.,;.|__(O)___|____/_(O)|

Comment

Hmm ok I'll go dig some extensions and wobble sockets out of the basement and see if I can get to them.

Follow up question, is it "better" to try and crank the bike 5-6 times, then wait 30s or so and try again, over and over? Probably not doing the starter any favours. Would it be better if I tried to bump start it instead?

*Clean your carbs* *adjust your valves*
      Cleaning carbs sounds like quite the operation, hope it doesn't come to that. I suppose I could have winterized it a little better.

Thanks

Comment

Hi,