Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

how do you know if there is to little oil in the forks?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

how do you know if there is to little oil in the forks?

After I replaced the fork seals, and put in new progressive springs I filled the forks up with the recommended amount according to the servicemanual(180cc).
    But the front end seems very soft when bouncing the bike up and down.
    Also, if I hold the front brake and rock the bike backwards it'll "settle" in a slighty higher position. If I rock it forwards again it'll go back to what it was previously at. Is that normal behaviour? Maybe should try and make a video...
    I have no experience in what this bike should feel like since it's my first one and I have only ever driven it properly twice for a total of one hour. That was last fall so I can't remember how it used to be either....

Should I just remove the forks again and fill it up to the maximum of 150mm as stated in other servicemanuals? The papers that where included with the springs said 150mm was maximum, but didn't mention any minimum oil levels... I think mine are at like 200mm or something...
    This is all on a '78 750E

I am not close to a factory manual at the moment but, the Clymer manual says 180cc's or 6.04 oz.

Eric

Comment

Cliff has a great tutorial on his fork springs.

Take note on the specific wt fork oil he used and the spacers he made to go on top of the springs.
      82 1100 EZ (red)

"You co-opting words of KV only thickens the scent of your BS. A thief and a putter-on of airs most foul. " JEEPRUSTY

Comment

Yes, I've read that.
        But the papers that followed my fork springs says my bike doesn't need spacers. Nor where there any spacers with the factory setup either.
        I used fork oil, 10weight I think...

Comment

Have you set the static sag?
          79 GS1000S
          79 GS1000S (another one)
          80 GSX750
          80 GS550