Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New to motorcycles in general.

Hello everybody.
    I'm totally new to motorcycles, and have recently obtained through a sale turned barter, a non-running 82 GS450t. I am told it only needs a battery to run. I don't know what else might be wrong.

My question is, what can i expect a bike that has been fairly neglected for at least a little while, will need? I assume: oil change, new battery... these motors are air cooled? I plan on a carb cleaning, and maybe new tires. What else should i look for?

A little background about myself:

I have wanted a motorcycle since I was a child. I've been a bit on the crazy side, and was fairly certain I'd kill myself on a motorcycle up until a couple years back. I'm married, a bit older now (in my 30s) and make wiser decisions. So, I'm excited to have a bike!

I'm very mechanically inclined. I'm a bicycle mechanic. I've worked on racecars, and I'm a welder/fabricator (TIG welding primarily). I'm reasonably capable of most mechanical endeavors.

I've never ridden a motorcycle before, but I'm very coordinated, and I have excellent bike handling skills on bicycles, especially mountain bikes, and fantastic slow speed bicycle handling skills. I plan to take a safety class that gives me the M class license upon completion. Any other advice?

I eventually plan to modify the appearance of the bike (big surprise) and since I'm able to weld and fabricate, I imagine I'll probably enjoy my new hobby quite a bit.

I would love to hear suggestions, common pitfalls, lessons learned, etc...
    Thanks in advance.

-

Welcome to the site. You'll have a lot of maintenance to do to get it running correctly so please don't pull any shortcuts. Look in GS Owners section here for Basscliff's welcome package and set to reading. You'll find lots of invaluable information on his site which can be overwhelming but much needed.

And pictures are required