Valves & Shims - Input

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Valves & Shims - Input

This is my first time checking and adjusting valves on a gs and I could use some input.

Attached are my valve clearances and shim sizes.

I would like to get all my valves as close to the same as possible (0.07 - 0.08) to help tuning and performance.

I am looking for suggestions as to what sizes I need or which ones to swap around.

Any input is appreciated. This is for a 77 GS 750 B

Thank You

Steve will be along shortly, send him a nice friendly email and in exchange he will gladly send you his world famous valve clearance spreadsheet that does all the work for you.

Comment

[QUOTE=halz426;2060218]This is my first time checking and adjusting valves on a gs and I could use some input.

Attached are my valve clearances and shim sizes.

I would like to get all my valves as close to the same as possible (0.07 - 0.08) to help tuning and performance.

I am looking for suggestions as to what sizes I need or which ones to swap around.

Any input is appreciated. This is for a 77 GS 750 B

Thank You[/QUOTE

Are you mixing some metric and inch measurements? If not, a few readings have an extra 0. If these are all actually something over .04mm, you are in pretty good shape. If you want to get them to .07mm, just subtract the difference in what you have from what you want, then subtract that number from from the shim thickness you currently have. Also, lot's of guys run up around .1mm clearance. Ray
      Last edited by Ghostgs1; 05-27-2014, 05:26 PM. Reason: More help.
      "Nobody goes there anymore, it's too crowded" -Yogi Berra
      GS Valve Shim Club http://www.thegsresources.com/_forum...d.php?t=122394
      1978 GS1000EC Back home with DJ
      1979 GS1000SN The new hope
      1986 VFR700F2 Recycled

Comment

Originally posted by Flyboy View Post