Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Is that time to change front fork sealing ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Is that time to change front fork sealing ?

Hi. Since I don't know anybody in neighborhood who have suzuki gs and I am new in MC maintenance. I attached picture with oil rings on front fork. Is that time to change front fork sealing ?

20150920_172916.jpg

Yes, you'll probably find little oil left in the fork tubes. That's quite a bit of travel on those forks- do you ride on really rutted roads?
    1981 gs650L

"We are all born ignorant, but you have to work hard to stay stupid" Ben Franklin

Comment

Not really except in village where I live is every 200m speed bumpers. I find right now that behind left fork is even leaking. I have to definitely change sealing, But if I have to take out front wheel maybe it will be smart change also brake hose because it looks like from early 80's. Do you know where have reasonable prices for fork sealing and new break hose?
      +I measure voltage after 1 hour driving andown it was below 11.8V . I bought this bike as in good condition but last 2 months I spend 1 month on repair,maintenance and 6 days driving. :-((
      Last edited by Guest; 09-20-2015, 04:43 PM.

Comment

"+I measure voltage after 1 hour driving andown it was below 11.8V . I bought this bike as in good condition but last 2 months I spend 1 month on repair,maintenance and 6 days driving. "

You bike is not charging properly (if at all) . Probably you bought it like this - many times stuff doesn't get fixed right by previous owners and you become the lucky guy who gets to do the work!

update your signature to reflect bike/model/ year. This is a gs650 right?

the british guys will probably have good ideas on where to buy parts.
        1981 gs650L

"We are all born ignorant, but you have to work hard to stay stupid" Ben Franklin

Comment