Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Lost battery terminal nut somewhere on bike

Hey all,

I've been trying to get my bike (first one) started for a couple days now. Good news is: I figured out the problem! It was the battery, and I have a new one on the way.

Bad news is: I dropped a battery terminal nut somewhere while installing the charged faulty battery. I spent at least an hour looking all over for it, I'm convinced it's somewhere on the motorcycle. From what I can tell, the worst case scenario is it fell in this hole that the filtered air gets sucked into:

IMG_2366.jpg

I looked in there best I could, but saw nothing. I rocked the bike around, but have found nothing. Finally, I had enough and tried to start the bike. I was pleased I got it running, and I didn't hear it rattling around, but I'm fearful that somehow the nut got into the carburetor or something and will somehow wreak havoc.

Again, I'm new to motorcycles and mechanics, so my question is: Am I justified in being nervous about using the motorcycle and not finding this nut?

Sure seems like you'd have to fling it into that intake, rather than simply dropping it.
    What bike is that? Airboxes come off, just remove it and shake it around. Maybe tie a magnet to a string and go fishing.
    If it is in there its pretty heavy to get sucked in. More likely on the bottom of the air box I'd think.

When you put the new battery in, snip a tuny piece of hose, battery vent hose or vacuum hose, and stuff it under the nut. It'll keep it in place.
    Roger

Current rides
    1983 GS 850G
    1982 GS1100GK

https://visitedstatesmap.com/image/AZARCACOIDILINKSMONVNMOKTXUTWYsm.jpg Gone but not forgotten 1985 Rebel 250, 1991 XT225, 2004 KLR650, 1981 GS850G, 1982 GS1100GL, 2002 DL1000, 2005 KLR650, 2003 KLX400, 2003 FJR1300

Comment