poor idle, GS1100

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

poor idle, GS1100

i have a 1983 GS1100G with under 23k miles. it spent about two years in my dad's shed before i got my motorcycle license and rescued it about 8 months ago. after an oil change, new plugs and my dad cleaning the carbs (i'm not sure exactly what he did, but he did not disassemble them at all), it runs great once warmed up except for at idle.

i'm still fairly new to motorcycles, but have been working on cars since before i could drive, so i'd like to think i pretty much know what's going on. i believe it has an aftermarket ignition coil, each carb has an individual air filter, and it has a slightly beat-up vance & hines "street megaphone" exhaust setup. as far as i know, everything else is stock.

i have two main questions. the first: is it normal for the idle to vary greatly between a cold and warm engine? if i set the idle to just barely above 1k RPM when i start it, after fully warmed up the idle will reach well over 3k unless i adjust it again. also, if i hold the clutch or put it in neutral when stopping, the idle will usually hover around 3500RPM for a good 5-10 seconds before dropping back down to normal.

second: at idle, and more noticeably once the engine is warmed up, there is a slight popping/puffing sound, and a small puff of smoke comes out of an air filter. each time this happens, the engine speed drops momentarily (meaning there's a misfire of some sort).

i'm hoping to completely disassemble/clean the carbs once the weather warms up a little, but i don't know where to find gasket/rebuild kits. i'm also not sure if rebuilding the carbs would fix these issues. any input on how or what to do to improve idle will be appreciated. and thanks for the patience with the long post...