Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

TIRE Change: Front tire and tube changed but wont seat even

Greetings,
    First time post but have enjoyed this sight for some time.. alot of info in here. I ride an 79 GS 850 with loads of miles, i changed my front tire and tube, it now sports a Mich Macadam 50 E 100/90-19 , I believe it to be the correct replacement tire but i cannot get it to seat evenly ie. it has a big flat spot on it where the bead sits deeper in the rim--- not evenly on the rim...
    I do break it down and have tried several times to correct. I dont imagine its the tire but it could be..?
    Has anyone had a similar problem when changing their tires ?
    I want to get it balanced but it needs to be a round tire first.. no flat spots !
    Thanks

you got to lube it up good!!
    liquid dish washing soap thinned a bit with water works good and drys tacky making the bead stick to the rim good.
    back when I was mounting car tires for a living we used Myers tire soap.
    it was a pink liquid that was for mounting tires that had no scent to it, I discovered that it was actualy hand wash soap without the perfume in it.
    I used it to wash my hands after mounting the tires!

Comment

Hay thanks bra... i think you are right... i been changing out tubeless tires for some time but not this tube job... shoulda thought of that myself...... Thanks again..

Comment

You can get a tub of purpose-specific tire mounting lube from any motorcycle shop that caters to dirt bike or ATV enthusiasts.

The hand soap might be fine, but a lot of dish soaps are too corrosive and will eat up your rims. Nothing like using the right stuff for the job.
        1983 GS850G, Cosmos Blue.
        2005 KLR685, Aztec Pink - Turd II.3, the ReReReTurdening
        2015 Yamaha FJ-09, Magma Red Power Corrupts...
        Eat more venison.

Please provide details. The GSR Hive Mind is nearly omniscient, but not yet clairvoyant.

Celeriter equita, converteque saepe.