Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Chciagoland GS Biker Gang - (lol)

Hello All,

I have been reading up on a lot of posts lately. I admit, I am a newbie. I bought my first 81'GS550 L last fall. I am working on the carbs as I speak.
    The bike was running but ran into normal issues from the mis-care of the bike from the previous owner. I am still trying to get over the "I am afraid I might cause more damage because I don't know what I am doing thing? but I am taking the initiative to learn. (I have always wanted to learn to work on bikes and cars, bikes are a better option for me right now)

I see that Steve (Planecrazy) and JoeNardy (I hope I got that right) are from the Chicagoland area. I live just north of Steve of Round Lake, IL.
    Just wanted to say HI and thank everyone for the great web site.

PS
    As a last ditch effort (and a just in case) , does anyone know of someone who rebuilds carbs on the side? I don't want to go a dealer if I don't have to or I would be willing to work along someone to learn for myself.

Thanks,
    Sean

I'm assuming you've found the carb rebuild article, right? that looks like it will help with the initial reconstruction, and then you can come back for jetting or synching etc.

welcome to the forum, and good luck! these are great bikes to work on!

Comment

Yup, I found the cleanup series. I have it printed and on my workbench. I have tried a few other tips from the forum as well. My biggest hurdle is trying to get the screws of the carbs without stipping them.

I think I need to buy a better screw driver set.
      Does WD40 work on loosening them or am I causing more problems.

Comment

Hi Sean!

A number of the Chicago guys have rebuilt their carbs (not me, yet) and I'm sure if you run into trouble there's plenty of help nearby. Send me an IM with your email address and I'll get you on to our local email thread.

Regards,
        Steve 8)

Comment

Those Chicago guys are trouble, you should avoid them!!!