Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

manifold boots came off but found something, please help

1980 GS850GL
    I was sucessful in getting the manifold boots off with alot of cursing and a 1/4 can of pb. lol

I found that the o-rings were has hard as rocks and one had a piece miss out of it just like the photo. So thank you for all your help.

I have a couple questions:

1) It says use high temp grease when putting this back together. Does this go in the groove when putting in o-rings or on the surface that will make contact when putting the bolts back in (replacing screws)?

2) It says torque at 6 lbs, My torques lowest # is 20 lbs. so is it just snug and no muscling it?

Now for the bad news. When taking the airbox and boots off carb. The carb on the left (#1) was leaking gas into the airbox. (Another culprit to hard starts and not idling). I just rebuilt it and then took it to have it sync and they took it apart to make sure I did it right (i am a women and the mechanic said women don't know how to do this type of thing) so i do not know what they did. I am assuming that the jet under the main jet is the culprit? If I am right why would it do this. I did not open it up this even figured I would come in and ask questions they go back at it tomorrow night when i get home.

Thanks cj

Re: manifold boots came off but found something, please help

Just smear a little grease on the rubber "O" rings with your finger. A little too much wont hurt anything, so you dont have to worry about it. Just smear em eup. :-) You can coat the bolts with a little grease or anti seize also. It will help to make them easier to remove the next time.

My torque wrench doesnt go down to 6 ft lb either. Just use a small wrench or a 1/4" drive ratchet and snug them down with about the same force it takes to pick up a 12 pack of pepsi. Its worked for me a long time. :-)

As for taking your carb apart because it was rebuilt by a woman...........