1980 Mikuni BS 34 jet needle adjustment

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

1980 Mikuni BS 34 jet needle adjustment

Hi all. What a great forum. I'm brand new, so maybe what I am looking for is already on here, but I haven't been able to find it.

I have a 1980 GS 450L with Mikuni BS carbs. The jet needles on these aren't like the grooved ones I've seen in the posts here. They are... hard to describe. Is anyone familiar with these? Does anyone know how to adjust them?

Thanks for any help you can give!

If you want to adjust your needle jet it is done by changing the position of the e-clip on the piston/diaphram assembly. If there is only one notch for the clip you can get spacers (small washers) to adjust the needle.

I'm new to carbs myself, but am doing a rebuild/rejet on the same year/model bike and this is the info I came up with.

Anyone feel free to correct me if I am wrong.

Good luck with your project and use the search tool on the forum, that's where I found a ton of good information.

:mrgreen:

Comment

Yeah, I know what you mean, but that's the problem. Mine's not like that at all. I'd be curious to know if yours is like the others I've seen and read about on this forum, like this one

Mine looks nothing like this.

I would like very much to hear how your project is going! Are you going to keep the stock airbox?

later

Comment

Ok, I obviously have no idea how to post an image on this forum.

[img][/img][/url]

Comment

None whatsoever.

[img]src="http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y36/bazango/needle.jpg" alt="Image hosted by Photobucket.com"[/img]

Comment

OK I give up.

[/img]

Comment

Mine looks nothing like this.
              Got a picture of what it DOES look like? That pic is pretty typical of a needle. Exactly how is your different?

Mark

Comment

I'll snap a pic tonight.

Comment